Getting the engine started!

Why is it that sometimes doing the positive things, things that are good for you so hard to maintain? Eg) exercising, being organized around the home, producing outstanding results at work.. maintaining good habits… being consistent with our goals and resolutions…

For me personally, I need to be centered in my day. Otherwise I go crazy. I get anxious, worried, emotionally unstable, oh the works!!

One thing definitely that helps to keep me grounded is by having quiet times with God. Through reading the Bible, praying, meditating on the verses and being open to what it is that He is saying! Even my husband comments that whenever I read my Bible first thing, I am less agitated and more at peace.

Actually, I noticed something quite interesting… The more I spent time with my Lord via reading and meditating on His Word.. The more addictive His Word becomes in my life!

Once I start to read the Word, I can’t stop. And you know what, Reading it becomes exciting and invigorating. My heart beats faster, because it seems like I can’t get enough of what He is saying! Even if I have read the same verse before, still, it is the wonder of reading that particular verse/passage at that time which happens to be perfectly timely!

So why is it that a good thing such as this.. Something that helps me mentally and emotionally… is sometimes hard to maintain??? It’s the getting started that’s hard. To get an engine revved up, you have to start it. Sometimes it doesn’t start. Could be the cold temperatures or even after being neglected for so long it’s harder to start any engine! It’s like getting the ball rolling!

The same goes with our lives. For me, it is hard to prioritize and put God first thing in the morning. Why? All the distractions, thoughts, the ‘to do’s’ that needs to be done… When simply, to wiser and more effective thing to do is to put all those things aside and come to Him in prayer and the Word. This will give me the results I need. It’s when my inside (spirit and soul) is healthy and nourished, my actions, behaviors and emotions are in check!

Two questions I have been mulling over recently is:

“What and who preoccupies my mind most of the time?”

“What is it that almost always becomes a distraction for me?”

Most of the times, when I get up I think of all the “to-dos”. Then, I try to do them to get it out of the way.. But you know, most of the things on my “to do” can be prepared the night before… It is more about effective time planning and sleeping earlier. It is also I recently learnt, about letting go of control and following my ‘urges’!

I read this passage this morning. To me this passage is just too beautiful… I hope that it may speak to you as well. [In brackets are my words]:

“That He would grant you, according to the riches of His Glory, to be strengthened with might THROUGH His Spirit in the inner man,

That Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith;

That you, being rooted and grounded in love [Amen Lord, I receive Your Love]

May be able to comprehend.. the width and length and depth and height – to Know the Love of Christ which passes knowledge that you may be filled with ALL fullness of God [ I Never realized this! I always thought that it is impossible to ever comprehend just how much God loves us.. but I can pray for this! To know His love and to be filled with more of Him!]

Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power [His Spirit] that works in us [in my heart, mind, soul]

To Him be the Glory… For all generations, forever and ever. Amen” (Ephesians 3:14-20)

Aggghhh I love verses like this! They are such bold prayers of faith! My prayer is that we all will experience more of God in our lives this year, to Know His Love and to be Filled with the fullness of His Spirit in our lives!

May you have a God-filled and God-centered day.

Thank you for reading!

~ Mel.

20140117-092338.jpg

14 thoughts on “Getting the engine started!

  1. Donna says:

    Amen girl! I agree that when I spend more time with The Lord and seek Him in EVERYTHING. When I only care what He thinks and not concerned with others thoughts of me. When I stay centered on Him and the desires He has for me. When I keep the tv off. An amazing thing happens….I am filled with His unspeakable JOY. PRAISE HIS NAME!

    Loved your post!

    Like

    • Mel says:

      Oh yes! Love the “when I care what He thinks and not concerned with others thoughts of me” that’s also what I’ve been learning too!! πŸ™‚ thank u Donna!

      Like

  2. Jeanne Takenaka says:

    My days go much better when I spend time in the Word too. I tend to weather the challenges of the day with much more peace. And I love, LOVE how God will bring a verse to life that I’ve read over many times just when I need to KNOW it personally.

    Great post, and a great start to 2014.

    Like

    • Mel says:

      How awesome Jeanne! Thank you for your comment, it’s great to hear of others’ experiences with the Word too. Is your last name Japanese? Just curious, I love all things Japanese πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Mel says:

        Ahh how wonderful! πŸ™‚ the Japanese culture is so fascinating isn’t, I love how they package things so nicely and beautifully πŸ™‚ nearly everything is so delicate πŸ™‚ I love to read your blog by the way– always, beautifully written and inspiring for the soul. πŸ™‚

        Like

  3. Hunt FOR Truth says:

    YAY! We need to have a self that watches over our affairs as though we are parenting a child. Every feeling that is too much is suspect and we must gently turn all of our thinking towards God’s will.

    Like

    • Mel says:

      I am learning about that too. I believe thar It is all a matter of the condition of one’s heart. For me, if my feelings are overwhelming, more often than not it is because of fear, worry or anxiety. Those are the 3 common culprits. So the best way to keep my self sane is to fill my thoughts with what God has promised and said via meditating on His Word just as you wrote “to His will”.

      Like

Leave a comment